Question(s):
What is the ruling of Shellac? Is shellac halal?

Answer(s):
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

In principle, insects are not impure as they do not have flowing blood. [1] However, insects (or any part of them) are impermissible to consume. [2]

Shellac is a secretion derived from a female lac bug. During the process of manufacturing it into a glazing agent for an edible product, there are possibilities of traces and particles of this bug to be found in the product.

Thus, in light of this and the difference of opinion amongst the contemporary scholars in this regard [3], the balanced view is that Shellac should be deemed doubtful for consumption, but halal (lawful) for external use, such as in creams and lotions etc.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best.
Mufti Mubasshir Talha
28 Jumādā Oula 1442 / 12 January 2021

Concurred by: Mufti Chakil Omarjee
Approved by: Mufti Tahir Wadee

Note: This fatwa is only to be viewed with the question asked. In the event of presenting this to a third party, please ensure it is coupled with the original question, as well as the references below for Islamic Scholars.


DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in this answer belong only to: the author, any concurring Ulama’ and the senior approving Muftis – they do not in any way represent or reflect the views of any institutions to which he may be affiliated.

Arguments and ideas propounded in this answer are based on the juristic interpretations and reasoning of the author. Given that contemporary issues and their interpretations are subjective in nature, another Mufti may reach different conclusions to the one expressed by the author. Whilst every effort has been taken to ensure total accuracy and soundness from a Shari’ah perspective, the author is open to any correction or juristic guidance. In the event of any juristic shortcomings, the author will retract any or all of the conclusions expressed within this answer.

The Shari’ah ruling given herein is based specifically on the scenario in question.  The author bears no responsibility towards any party that acts or does not act on this answer and is exempted from any and all forms of loss or damage.  This answer may not be used as evidence in any court of law without prior written consent from the author.  Consideration is only given and is restricted to the specific links provided, the author does not endorse nor approve of any other content the website may contain.


[References]

[1]
وموت ما ليس له نفس سائلة في الماء لا ينجسه كالبق والذباب والزنابير والعقرب ونحوها
[Al-Hidāyah, 1/22, Dār Ihya’ Al-Turāth]

ثم كلي من كل الثمرات فاسلكي سبل ربك ذللا يخرج من بطونها شراب مختلف ألوانه فيه شفاء للناس إن في ذلك لاية لقوم يتفكرون
فيه الدلالة على طهارة اللبن المحلوب من الشاة الميتة من وجهين أحدهما عموم اللفظ في إباحة اللبن من غير فرق بين ما يؤخذ منه حيا أو ميتا والثاني إخباره تعالى أنه خارج من بين فرث ودم وحكمه بطهارته مع ذلك إذ كان ذلك موضع الخلقة فثبت أن اللبن لا ينجس بنجاسة موضع الخلقة وهو ضرع الميتة كما لم ينجس بمجاورته للفرث والدم  قوله تعالى يخرج من بطونها شراب مختلف ألوانه فيه شفاء للناس فيه بيان طهارة العسل ومعلوم أنه لا يخلو من النحل الميت وفراخه فيه وحكم الله تعالى مع ذلك بطهارته فأخبر عما فيه من الشفاء للناس فدل ذلك على أن مالا دم له لا يفسد ما يموت فيه
[Ahkām al-Qur’ān lil Jassās, 5/5, Dar al-Sirāj]

[2]
ويحرم عليهم الخبائث
[Quran, Surah al-A’raf, ‘Āyah 157]

والمستخبث حرام بالنص لقوله تعالى: ﴿ويحرم عليهم الخبائث﴾ [الأعراف ١٥٧] ولهذا حرم تناول الحشرات، فإنها مستخبثة طبعا
[Al-Mabsūt, 11/220, Dar al-Ma’rifah]

يجب أن يعلم بأن الحيوانات على أنواع: منها ما لا دم له نحو الذباب والزنبور والسمك والجراد وغير ذلك، ولا يحل تناول شيء منها إلا السمك والجراد
[Muhit al-Burhāni, 6/57, DKI]

وأما الذي يعيش في البر فأنواع ثلاثة: ما ليس له دم أصلا، وما ليس له دم سائل، وما له دم سائل مثل الجراد والزنبور والذباب والعنكبوت والعضابة والخنفساء والبغاثة والعقرب
[al-Bada’i al-Sana’i, 5/36, DKI]

وأما الذي يعيش في البر فأنواع ثلاثة: ما ليس له دم أصلا وما ليس له دم سائل وما له دم سائل، فما لا دم له مثل الجراد والزنبور والذباب والعنكبوت والخنفساء والعقرب والببغاء ونحوها لا يحل أكله إلا الجراد خاصة، وكذلك ما ليس له دم سائل مثل الحية والوزغ وسام أبرص وجميع الحشرات
[Fatāwa Al-Hindiyyah, 6/57, DKI]

ويحرم أكل حشرات الأرض (صغار دوابها) كالعقرب والثعبان والفأرة والنمل والنحل لسُّميتها واستخباث الطباع السليمة لها
[Fiqh al-Islāmi wa-adillatuhu, 3/506, Dar al-Fikr]

جاننا چاہۓ کے شریعتِ مطہرہ میں استعمال کے منع ہونے کی وجہیں چار ہیں: (۳): استخباث یعنی طبعت سلیمہ کا اس سے گھن کرنا جیسے کیڑے مکوڑوں میں
[Bahishti Zewar, 98, Dār al-Isha’at]

[3]
Shellac – A FIQHĪ APPRAISAL (By Mufti Taha Karaan, South Africa)
https://www.mnblind.org/pdf/fiqh-miscellaneous/8370-21-shellac-mufti-taha-karan/file

Mufti Ebrahim Desai:
http://www.askimam.org/public/question_detail/18583
http://askimam.org/public/question_detail/18147